ldapblog

Just another WordPress.com site

Apache Directory Studio Creating Initial Context

Apache Directory Initial Context Entry was not created (dc=example,dc=com)

I have heard good things about Apache Directory and Studio, so I decided to give it a test drive and downloded apache directory studio (1.5.3).

Apache Directory studio provides an integrated directory enviornment which is kind of cool. After starting the directory studio the first thing I encounterd was it did not create initial context entry (dc=example,dc=com), although the rootdse was showing 3 (ou=schema and ou=system)

but in studio there were only two context entry listed. I fired up my old and trusted friend LDAP Admin Tool from LDAPSoft (Commercial LDAP Browser and Admin Tool with 14 days trial) to verfiy the entries, LDAP Admin Tool displayed the partition dc=example, dc=com. When I tried to create a new user or entry LDAP Admin Tool gave me an object no found, it reminded me of the same problem encounterd during the openldap configuration some 3 years ago.

So I created an ldif file with the following entry, saved the file as example.ldif and loaded it using LDAP Admin Tool (Sure can be loaded using studio)

dn: dc=example,dc=com
ou: dc=example,dc=com
objectClass: organizationalUnit
objectClass: extensibleObject
objectClass: top

After LDAP Admin Tool confirmation that the entry has been created

I verfied in studio and now the studio was showing context entry dc=example,dc=com.

You can now create users and groups using Studio, although I find it easier to create and manage them using LDAP Admin Tool.

References:
1. Apache Directory Studio
2. LDAPSoft LDAP Browser and Admin Tool

One response to “Apache Directory Studio Creating Initial Context

  1. mj August 9, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    I was confused how to create the initial context, googled a lot but unable to find correct answer. Thank you for the article.

Leave a Reply

